AMSA - NSW Annual General Meeting

The AGM of the NSW Men’s Sheds was held on Thursday 7 July 2016 at the Mercure Hotel Parramatta and was attended by each of the elected Zone Representatives and Kevin Callinan, AMSA Board President.

President Bill Clifford presented his Annual Report which is attached. Treasurer Alex Paton reported that in the past 12 months credits were $37,453.00 and debits were $23,090.00 leaving a credit balance of $22,345.00 as at 7 July 2016.

The election of officers for the following year are:
President - Bill Clifford - Gulgong Men’s Shed
Secretary/Public Officer - John Sharples - Cessnock Men’s Shed & Community Garden
Treasurer - Alex Paton - Sanctuary Point Men’s Shed
Management Committee - Len Keogh - Taree/Manning Men’s Shed
                  Tony Taylor - Berrigan Men’s Shed

General Meeting Report

Following the AGM a General Meeting considered a draft Work Health & Safety package that Kevin Callinan is developing for distribution to all sheds. Kevin sought comments from the meeting as to the suitability of the power point presentation and how it could be used by all sheds to manage work health and safety responsibilities as required by legislation and or Duty of Care.
A sub committee was elected to work with Kevin on this document.

Currently there are 329 AMSA sheds in NSW and the boundaries of the current Zones were in need of adjustment. Having considered the options 3 additional Zones have been established. One based on sheds in and around the ACT, one in Sydney’s Northern suburbs and the Riverina Zone has been divided in two. Only the ACT Zone has a representative at this time but actions have begun to identify suitable shedders from the other 2 zones.

For reasons of logical naming of zones it was decided to base them on geographic names hence new names will be appearing on future references and graphic displays.

Details of other items discussed can be obtained from individual zone representatives including the decision to develop a Facebook page to operate alongside the current web page.